Saturday 27

Saturday 27- I did my stretches, ran down to feed Princess and back- about one mile, lifted weights, and rode my bike.
Today’s Weather was: Temps of around 45 and 69 degrees, N- NW winds 10 to 14 MPH, humidity around 15 percent, clear skies.
According to the National Weather Service: “Sunday…Sunny. Highs 72 to 74 in yucca valley to around 75 in twentynine palms. Light wind becoming southeast around 10 mph in the afternoon. Sunday Night…Mostly clear. Lows 45 to 49. South wind less than 10 mph in the evening becoming light.”
I called Family and Friends and yakked them to death for a spell. While I was doing that I was downloading AVG anti-virus ISO boot disk that when ripped to a CD and booted onto a computer will run a virus check before the OS loads; never know when I might get someone’s computer to run this on.
I made stuffing with raisins for potluck and went down to the community center. There were around fifteen folks there ready to eat the delicious food waiting on the table. Dyane Carrol brought these fantastic tacos and a bundt cake made from an old family recipe. Dyan got mad at me because I kept calling it a butt cake. Dorothy Jacobsen’s spaghetti squash black bean casserole and quinoa salad was mighty good. Chris Jonas brought his famous potato salad instead of his famous macaroni salad this time. Marie Morrison’s baked beans with bread were a hit. Rose Matich brought her peas and carrots. And Marcie Hines made a vegetable tray full of carrots, tomatoes, celery, and broccoli, with Ranch Salad dip. Marcie also brought her three grandkids along and it seemed to me that they were enjoying the festivities. All is well in our little community for a change.
I went for my evening walk listening to Astro 10: General Astronomy: Celestial Phenomena.
I read aloud from the textbooks: “Astronomy Today” about Venus’ atmosphere; “The Cell: a Molecular Approach” about Centromeres that play an important role with distributing chromosomes during mitosis- when a cell divides.
I continued drawing the picture of me, my telescope, a turtle, a palm tree, with the mountains in the background. Kris, a dear online friend of mine, wants me to put it up on the web when I get it done. I guess I’ll have to now but I’ve seen better from a third grader.
I just starting to read “Chasing the Dime” by Michael Connelly when I was saved by a call from Stuart and Debbie who used to live out here but moved to Oklahoma to live on a Indian Reservation. They been gone for three years now, we had a lot of catching up to do; one hour and thirty three minutes to be exact.
I watched “Cobra” (1986) starring Sylvester Stallone. I had to laugh at Stallone and his manly ways. It was about a slasher who leaves his victims in a public area. The whole LA Police Department is at a loss to find this murderer and as a last resort call in Cobra. But it turns out to be a group of crazed criminals, and they are after the only women who can identify them. Cobra (Stallone) kills them all in the end; about a hundred of them. I thought that was funny too!
I did my stretches, practiced my guitar, wrote to my journal, posted it to the web, and called it a night.

About madgravity

I am just a guy out in the desert amazed at the things out here where I live, the folks I call my friends, and this that we call the Internet. I am excited to share them with you!
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment